Chiropractic / Massage / Acupuncture · Vision

Vision On A Chiropractor Visit

Today I drove to the chiropractor, the first time I’ve seen him since early December. The trip is the first 1/4 of the long trip I made over the weekend, and I used the memory of how relaxed I was and how well I could see then to help me today, when it is gray and drizzling (not as easy to see clearly), plus fiercely windy (makes me feel vulnerable and anxious). Of course I didn’t even think of using my glasses; this is not even entering my mind lately, although I still wear them on top of my head. However I didn’t feel as confident or relaxed as I had over the weekend. I did fine, though, making my way easily around the road construction or passing the very slow-moving big trucks. Again, if I’d worn glasses, especially with the dim light, I know I’d have been straining and probably gotten a headache.

The chiropractor was glad to see me, and said my spine felt better than he would have expected for such a long absence. I told him I’ve been meditating regularly, something he’s been trying to get me to do for years, and we talked about my energy medicine program. He said my  body is curved laterally and I could feel it the last few days, hips and shoulders leaning to the left and mid-back to the right, like a big reversed C. He moved my feet around while I lay on my stomach which magically adjusted everything, and poked at my neck too and now I feel wonderful. He gave me a couple of handouts about the work which he usually does, and one on how chiropractic care can help anxiety caught my attention. This was a documented case of a woman who had been through all the anti-anxiety meds without any relief, but chiropractic adjustments allowed her nervous system to function efficiently. How many other people are walking around like this?

I’m thinking now I’ll be going back to him occasionally, maybe every month or so, for a “tune-up”. It really does help, and since I’m not seeing Tara any longer for AT lessons (she moved to California), no one else is evaluating my body structure but me, which is dangerous because I hardly know everything. This feels like the kind of self-care a massage is, to relax me and align my body so it can function at its best. I’ll continue to evaluate the benefits of the treatments, and may go more or less often depending on what I find.

Leave a comment