Eyebody · Vision

Noticing My Negative Habits And Patterns

The day before yesterday I got up late — my schedule is still re-adjusting after the trip to the west coast and getting maybe an hour of sleep on the redeye flight home. I had several things I wanted to do that day already, and more seemed to keep popping up. I had run out of yams the day before, a staple I eat every day, so had to get some, plus I needed a few more Christmas cards, plus my partner had used up the last roll of paper towels and not told me. I felt my adrenalin ramping up, seeing each of these situations as a crisis. I knew it was going to get dark very early, and I could feel the panic threatening to rise about being out after dark. And I hadn’t even run yet — oh no!

I decided to go shopping first, to 3 separate stores for a trip of a few hours, and then run afterward. I’ve run in the dark many times over the years and it’s not a problem, but for some reason driving after dark makes me very nervous. The whole time I was out in the stores I was aware that I had a cranky attitude, all the fat people in my way, taking their time like they had nothing else to do. I had a mission to accomplish! I can laugh about this driven go-go-go attitude now, but at the time, even though I recognized it, I couldn’t seem to turn it around. I got home exhausted from fighting Reality (what a waste of energy!), with a headache. I hadn’t been able to see as well as I usually can, straining somewhat, but again, I couldn’t seem to slow down enough to do anything different.

Once I got out running, nearly at dusk, wearing lots of clothes because it was pretty cold, I already felt better. I had to step carefully and watch out for the black ice on the pavement. I’ve noticed that since this “looking for details” theme started, I haven’t tripped when running or stepped in a hole, which I used to do a few times a month — I wasn’t looking! I realize now I had been taking that big visual gulp of my environment, not looking at the details of cracks or bumps in the pavement. As I ran I could feel myself starting to relax, enjoying looking at the details of the scenery passing by, the houses with Christmas lights, or bare stark trees.

When I was a child, my myopic mother was anxious and nervous, worried about everything. The few times I remember her taking off her glasses, she had that unseeing stare. Pictures of her holding me as an infant always have her wearing her glasses, so this is how I learned how to look. My calmer Dad would get frustrated with her having such a high stress level, especially since he couldn’t seem to do anything to help. He would say, exasperated, “L (her name), everything’s a crisis!”.  I soaked up this attitude too, along with her visual habits — this is just how I felt when I had so much to do 2 days ago that had to be done, and had to be done before sunset. Of course, this isn’t true. There is always plenty of time to do what really needs to be done, and I can see well enough. I want to catch it sooner when my anxiety starts ramping up, rather than just accepting it as normal (which it used to be). Then I can do something to turn it in a more healthy direction. I’ve written before about visual end-gaining, about rushing, and about Peter Grunwald’s teachings on avoiding visual “grabbing”. I clearly need more focus on softening this familiar pattern. I’m a work in progress!

7 thoughts on “Noticing My Negative Habits And Patterns

  1. Nancy, I can SO relate to this, fellow Vata that I am! Isn’t it nice though, to have the knowledge about Ayurveda? I feel that it’s half the battle and the fact that we can recognize when it’s happening at least gives us the opportunity to slow down, take a deep breath and re-evaluate the situation. I shudder when I think that I lived so many years of my life with that ramped-up anxiety. Sometimes when people would comment about how much energy I had, I thought it was such a complement. Well, there’s energy and then there’s Vata energy, right? Crash and burn, that was my pattern. I would run around like an energizer bunny and then boom – one more errand would have me in tears. Anyway, now I’m rambling like a Vata! Thanks for the post, Nancy.

    Your Vata sister,
    Barbara 🙂

    1. Barbara,
      Oh, I feel so understood! Yes, people have complimented me my whole life also about how much energy I have. It’s only recently that I’ve realized I can do things at a steady methodical pace, without rushing, and still be productive (very important!), yet not be exhausted afterward! From crash and burn to live and learn! Thanks for writing to me here, Sis.
      Nancy

  2. Hi Nancy!
    Oh I know, that’s such a crisis when there is no more paper towel! (not that much…) In France they don’t have very often this problem because they use a bidet, a kind-of upside down faucet in a sink to wash their… (ok, too much details!)

    I heard a sexologist woman on TV some weeks ago who said that the brain of a male and the brain of a female is structured very differently on many subject and that’s why boys and girls react in completely opposite ways on some subjects such as finding roads, schedules, personal problems and so.

    Also, it might be deceving for you to learn that you can’t save much more than one or two minutes by running in stores and for all the stress that it gives, it doesn’t worth it. I still do it sometimes but it is clearly not the right thing to do.

    Take your time!
    -Alexandre

  3. Alexandre,
    Yes, I know what a bidet is and I wish they were more popular here — I’ve only seen them in a few hotels. Maybe I’ll have to get one for the house so I never have to worry about running out of paper towels again, but I’ll still have to keep a close eye on those yams!

    Yes, male and female brains are different. Alison Armstrong is a great teacher of this in a very humorous way: see http://www.youtube.com/UnderstandMen#p/f/3/emcG3sZqJpo and her other video clips. I’ve thought in a male way most of my life, striving to accomplish that goal, total attention on one thing, but since I have a female brain I sometimes try to put total attention on everything at once (and we know how well that works with vision!), then feel like a failure when I can’t get it all done, like with the paper towels and yams. I think the male side of my brain is over-developed and the female side is just coming into its own. Almost all of my friendships throughout my life have been with men.

    Yes, I can still get as much done (maybe more) in a calm relaxed way as I can in a rushing stressed way — I just have to remember that! I was raised by a mother who thought if I wasn’t straining, I was being half-hearted and lazy, and who has actually asked me to help her worry! Yes, being relaxed is the right thing to do. And it helps me see! You are a good example and I like your easy attitude.
    Nancy

  4. Barbara,
    I asked Deborah about the “too much yang” situation when I first started working with her. She took one look at me and said oh, yes, that was indeed the case, but that I didn’t want to downplay my strong male side, just enhance (“bring up”, she said) my female side to match it. I have to learn to be a girl!

    Alexandre is my most faithful blog reader, and has made great improvements in his own eyesight, so I’ve learned a lot from him in this area. I love his positive practical attitude, plus he always makes me laugh. He’s in Canada, a college student in engineering, somewhere outside of Montreal I think.

    Oh, and thanks for the bidet link — this is a real possibility.
    Nancy

Leave a comment