EFT · Vision

Revisiting Glasses

Yesterday I had a Skype session with my Carol Look-trained EFT coach, and wore a weak pair of glasses as an experiment for part of it. I was able to sit farther back from the computer screen than usual and see well. I put the glasses on top of my head when we tapped because they were in the way of my moving fingers, and later when we hit some sensitive emotional territory which started me crying they would have gotten all wet.

Today I went out in the car to get some groceries, bringing my glasses with me. It was so bright and sunny I could see plenty well enough so I just left them on top of my head. As I expected, I am more comfortable without glasses even when my vision is not crystal clear.

Of course I liked the additional clarity at the computer, which allows me to lean forward hardly at all and sit back farther too. This is probably the biggest plus. There were many negatives, though, which I’ll catalog here.

– Unless the glasses are spotlessly clean, it’s like looking through a dirty window, not the pure rich visual experience I am used to.
– The frames don’t obstruct my peripheral view they way they used to a few years ago when I was transitioning down from -10, which is a good thing. Now I just naturally look past the frames to the sides, and below and above them. However, the difference in clarity between looking straight ahead through glasses, and outside of the glasses (the periphery), is much more drastic than the gradual gradient of change I am used to and my brain doesn’t like it.
– The glasses feel heavy on my face and the bridge of my nose even though they are very light in weight. This might be only a reactivated body memory of the thick glass pairs I wore as a small child in the 1950s and 1960s but it still bothered me.
– Even though the glasses do make things clearer, they make things smaller too. This feels like peering critically, which makes me tense.
– After I have the glasses on for a few minutes, I start to get an ache above and behind my ears. The frames are nowhere near this area so it’s from muscular tension I am generating trying to see through the glasses, I’m pretty sure.
– When I take the glasses back off, the skull ache mentioned above does not disappear instantly. It can take quite a while to relax.
– If I ignore the ache in my skull and wear glasses for close to an hour, I also get pretty serious eyestrain.
– With glasses on my face I cannot relax as easily as I can without them. I can’t imagine falling asleep with them on, for example.

OK, that’s a summary for now of what I observed. I realize my priorities are not everyone’s, so the increased strain may be worth it to get the increased clarity for some folks, or they may not be as sensitive to it as I am so not feel the strain as much. My conclusion for now is that I can wear glasses if I absolutely need to, rather than strain to see, especially at the computer or when driving. However I want to keep my glasses-wearing time to a minimum, as it makes my head sore, my eyes tired, and my normally sweet disposition (grin!) start to get cranky.

My intention is to continue to improve my vision so I won’t need glasses at all. The way to do this is to remain aware of how I’m using my eyes and brain to look, all the time, and to look in a relaxed easy way as I’ve learned. My face and my entire body feel much freer without glasses, and I am so very grateful that I am able to live the majority of my life this way.

3 thoughts on “Revisiting Glasses

  1. Don’t know where to post this. A student sent it to me. Teachers are passing it along; its one of the best videos telling the truth about dangers of cornea lasik surgery. I embedded on my site, iblindness chat.;

    Pass on to Sorrisi…

  2. Interesting experiment, and it shows courage and flexibility on your part. You’re past the “glasses are evil stage”. That’s good. (I’m still here.)

  3. FMR, hi. I was hoping you’d see this. Yes, glasses aren’t evil, but they really don’t feel right for me so I plan to wear them as little as possible. Good to hear from you, and I hope you’re doing OK yourself.

Leave a comment