Eyebody · Vision

Looking Far And Wide

It’s been drizzling most of the morning and is now starting to clear up — I’m enjoying watching the light change outside the window, the bright green grass almost shining. I’m shifting around the frame of the air conditioner on the house across the street, appreciating how I couldn’t see it at all before, and am now getting flashes of the interior mesh design. Across the street used to seem like the other side of the world, and now it’s not far at all — in fact, my eyes are slightly annoyed at being blocked from looking farther because that house is in the way! Sorrisi made a comment last night on one of my earlier blog posts about being more comfortable looking far herself, so this is probably a common step in vision improvement and better seeing habits for someone who’s been myopic.

Earlier I was listening to an audio by a holistic healer trained in NLP, who was describing a process of releasing negative emotions. She said to look down to contact the negative emotion (anger, fear, etc.), that “looking down you can find any negative emotion you want” (!), then looking up to the ceiling, while being aware of what’s on the right and the left. She said “People who wear spectacles have a harder time contacting their emotions, which are stored in the peripheral vision”! Wow! Well, this fits with people putting glasses on to block anxiety, and how afraid it makes some people when they take their glasses off: wearing eyeglasses can actually be an addiction. I can tell my own peripheral awareness is increasing, and I’d like to think my emotional awareness is too. Peter Grunwald’s repeated emphasis on panoramic vision is making more and more sense.

2 thoughts on “Looking Far And Wide

  1. Hi Nancy!
    Your progress is amazing!
    I also have often this feeling that I can’t look far enough because something is in the way! I get flashes most of the time just by looking very far. I think that someone in better eyesight magazine said that when he was at the theatre, the scene always looked as if it was miles away and now (I say now but he’s probably dead since more than half a century), he have the impression that the scene is on his laps.

    I remember that when I was in high school 3 years ago, I never looked in the distance because the strain I produced while looking far was terrible. Everything looked ugly, with or without glasses, but I don’t know if it’s the blur that made objects look ugly or if it was the eyestrain.

    Last night, I had a dream in which I had an appointment with an optometrist and it ended up that his machine broke because my sight was constantly changing, as it really does.

    It’s interesting to see how every ”parts” of our brain are connected together and how the strain can be destructive. Even if it’s not the easiest path to take, I think that removing the strains is the best solution!

    Have a nice day of improvements!
    -Alexandre

  2. Alexandre,
    Yes, now that you point it out I am often noticing familiar things seeming closer than I thought they were. I had thought this was related to my old fearful childhood way of seeing, and that now that I am larger in relation to my environment, things look smaller and closer, and I feel crowded and want more space.

    I love your dream! When I was reading it I thought you were going to say you broke the machine because your vision was so good it couldn’t be measured! (Can you see the moons of Jupiter?) Just this morning I was talking to my partner about how variable healthy vision is, continuing to plant the seeds of vision improvement for him. He’s been wearing -8 glasses almost his whole life and is now just starting to take them off briefly, maybe to eat a meal, joking about picking up the wrong utensil, and how he can only see the top letter on the chart on the window a few feet away, and that it’s blurry, not clear. Once he sets his mind to it he’ll improve a lot faster than I did, but it’s good for me to learn from him anyway. He’s not as anxious as I am by any means, but does have a lot of those introverted myopic traits.

    Yes, the parts of our brain are very tied to our vision — it’s a lot more in the mind than in the eyes. I’m still feeling pings of energy release around my face and head when I do the chart or palm and really get into a relaxed state, so I know I’m still holding some amount of tension. I just keep doing the practices, appreciating my clear sight and learning how to relax more when it’s not clear. Yes, this is not the easiest path (or else everyone would be doing it!), but I wouldn’t go back — I like the way I feel now so much more!

    Take care and enjoy your day.
    Nancy

Leave a comment