Eyebody · Vision

Being Seen

It occurred to me today that fog or darkness or blur can be comforting because it can hide me. If no one sees me, I can’t be criticized or have demands put on me that I can’t meet. I’ve written before about the kindergarten episode where I was in my own little world playing on the monkey bars, and a girl came up to me to give me a glove I had dropped. I was shocked to realize she saw me, and got glasses soon after. If I make the commitment to see clearly, it includes the commitment to let myself be seen, which has been difficult for me in the past.

This brings to mind Peter Grunwald’s teaching in the Eyebody work that we should make a visual connection with what we look at, even if the object is blurry, letting our awareness reach all the way out to it. He also said that it’s an energy exchange. I can feel this exchange when I really look at another person, which is still often scary for me. I’m leaving tomorrow for a weekend energy medicine workshop in Arizona, and will have plenty of opportunities to practice looking at (with!) people, most of whom will be new to me. In the past I have told people I was nearsighted and they were surprised, saying I didn’t act like I was. (Of course I thought of Mr. Magoo talking to the mailbox!) So I’ll have the chance to re-invent myself as clear-sighted! This will be a lot of fun.

6 thoughts on “Being Seen

  1. I like the way you “see” things 🙂 the kindergarten episode is inspirational.

    Hope you’ll have fun in the energy medicine workshop! don’t forget to shine, so others can see you 😉

  2. N1ghtclouds,
    Hi and welcome to my blog. You nailed it — the workshop was all about being seen for me, a fabulous and sometimes scary experience. I’ll write a post about it later so stay tuned.
    Nancy

  3. Yup, you’re no longer nearsighted mentally. Physically, yes. But not mentally. No reason to pretend that you still are.

  4. FMR, thanks for your vote of confidence. Yes, I am a myope in recovery, and should be doing Blur Addicts Anonymous work for the rest of my life!
    Nancy

    1. That’s funny…there better not ever be such an organization. If there is, I will found it.

      I am learning from reading your blog for the past couple of years that vision has been your major stumbling block in life, altering your perceptions, experiences, and relationships (formerly in a negative way, and more recently in a positive way).

      For me, vision has never been my main achilles heel. It hasn’t been the thing that causes the majority of my stress. Rather, in my case, blurred vision has been a side-effect of other things. And I always considered it a nuisance and a handicap and an embarrassing thing to need glasses (which of course caused mroe stress). So maybe not all that different from your situation in that way. Just not as intense a stressor in my case.

      1. FMR,
        The intensity of the stressor may be related to the severity of the myopia — mine was -10 and I know you peaked at -6 or so. Just a thought; I’m not sure there is this direct of a correlation between the self-imposed stress and the prescription.
        Nancy

Leave a comment