Eye Chart · Vision

Letting Myself See In Arizona

Thursday through yesterday (Monday) I traveled to and enjoyed an energy medicine workshop in Arizona. I live in NY so it was a long trip and a very different climate. Every day we were there it was about 100 degrees in the daytime, sunny and hot with no haze or visible humidity. I could see so clearly! I saw many people with sunglasses but I gloried in the full sunlight on my closed eyelids. I didn’t even bring a pair of glasses, and never thought of them — I am beginning to re-define myself as someone who used to wear glasses but doesn’t any longer.

There were a few occasions when I couldn’t see clearly enough, but I knew glasses weren’t the solution and as I said it actually never occurred to me to miss having them with me. At night walking outside on the stone paths, or descending the big open staircase to the lobby, my steps were hesitant. I was afraid I wouldn’t see well enough to avoid tripping, so I used my feet to feel the terrain and walked more slowly than my companions. I purposely walked in the center of the wide stairs so I wouldn’t hang onto the railing and avoid even looking at the steps. I was fine — I just needed to be present, not on auto-pilot! Also, I sat in the 2nd row for the workshop and a few times couldn’t see the people on stage too clearly. I still kept looking and didn’t let them blur out, remaining visually and energetically connected to the action rather than detaching, and had enough clarity to follow what was happening.

Being seen came up. Several times I went up on stage to help my teacher and some other advanced students working on someone. Someone called me “very brave” which is pretty funny. I did it despite my nervousness because working directly with the teacher is the best way to learn. I had bare feet, the most comfortable and sure-footed for me, and I have strong sturdy calloused runner feet, not feminine pedicured toes. Plus a couple of times when someone’s story really touched me or I identified with it strongly, the tears started leaking out of my eyes, as I focused on staying grounded, planting my feet firmly and flexing my knees. The teacher complimented me on my progress, as did some students, and someone came up to me afterward and said she related to my sensitivity. So I’m glad I put aside any self-conscious feelings, which were heightened because this was broadcast via live feed and there will be a download to be seen forever. ACK! I really can’t hide now.

On the plane home after dark, I noticed the “explosion of details” (thank you, David, for this descriptive expression) around the overhead lit colored indicators for the vent or reading light for each seat, pieces of color swirling around in the darkness like small separate spilled jewels (not a blur of melting gummy bears!). I shifted from speck to speck, knowing I was seeing more clearly even though the entire image wasn’t decipherable yet. I returned home energized and positive, even with the lack of sleep and the 3 hour time change, seeing great separation and clarity in the letters on the chart. I am extremely optimistic now about further vision improvement.

12 thoughts on “Letting Myself See In Arizona

  1. Nancy, that’s just beautiful, I congratulate you on you incredible progress. You ARE brave. Especially touching I find you saying that you’re not missing the glasses at all, and that you know they are not the solution to when we’re not seeing clearly enough. I wish all of us your courage!

  2. Fuoco, thanks. This really is big progress for me. I’m noticing more and more that people often limit themselves unnecessarily, stepping into a cage and firmly closing the door, then complaining about being locked up! We have more power than we think, and just because we didn’t (or couldn’t) do something in the past is no reason not to go for it now.
    Nancy

  3. Mia, thanks. Yes, I was even more anxious and fearful back then, and I thought I had made a lot of progress! Got to keep going forward, and it keeps getting better. Take care, my friend.
    Nancy

  4. Hi super brave Nancy!

    I really like your idea of re-defining yourself as someone who used to wear glasses but doesn’t any longer and if you really don’t use them, then it’s even better! I know that progress doesn’t always come at a desirable pace but it does come with the time, so it’s just a question of time. When it’s very sunny and warm outside, it is often the most favorable conditions for enjoying good eyesight. When it’s sunny, the mood is more positive and clear sight comes easily. It is also the best time to practice, because you start from a higher point than when you sight is not as good.

    At home, the weather is sunny and it’s good because when had rain or gray (is it grey or gray?, it’s gris, as in french) time everyday since more than a month.

    When you explain things to a teacher, there is 2 options: 1.He’s bad or 2.You know much more than him. I hope for you that it was the second option!

    Have a nice day of improvements!
    -Alexandre

  5. Oh, Alexandre, hi — I think you are my biggest fan! If I ever get the chance to meet you in person I will give you an enormous hug. Maybe I’ll also re-define myself as someone who used to be fearful but is now lion-hearted!

    Yes, the bright sun is a big help to seeing, even after dark. I just got back from a walk through the neighborhood, and had the thought that I might be able to drive around the block my house is on at night without any glasses! Of course the thought of this alarmed me (I’m so calm! Not quite yet…) but it’s a possibility soon, while it’s warm enough to leave the windows open.

    Gray is the USA spelling and grey the British one (and also the one my friend in New Brunswick uses). So both are right!

    I know you don’t go to iblindness often, but you might want to check out how David has re-designed it, especially the blogs on the front page, including his own which is full of simple clear wisdom about how to see. I’ve been practicing placing points on what I see all day.

    Take care and be well.
    Nancy

  6. I didn’t know you were in Arizona, that’s cool! The weather was actually pretty mild the last few days, and it will only get hotter as the summer progresses. I’m glad you enjoyed your time here. 🙂

    I definitely agree with you that the vast majority of people wear sunglasses. I don’t own any sunglasses, and the sun doesn’t bother me about 75% of the time- even sometimes on my drive toward the east in the mornings. I look forward to a time when my vision is clear and the sunlight won’t provide a challenge anymore.

  7. Mark, hi — of course I thought of you when I knew I was going to AZ, then again when I got there. We were in Phoenix. I did like the bright sun (so much easier to see clearly!), less so the extreme heat and dryness. In the NY Hudson Valley it’s humid and green which feels more comfortable and home-like for me, although it can be gray and hazy or foggy a lot. When it’s like this I tell myself it’s blurry for everyone, and I actually know how to handle it better than most. I remember walking at night with the dream group in the Adirondacks a few years ago when someone commented how dark it was, and how hard it was to see. I was fine, and made a joke that it’s hard for me to see in the daylight, so this felt like what I dealt with all the time! Now I would make the same point in a less self-deprecating way, just planting the seed that adverse visual conditions can be dealt with more easily if you have relaxed healthy visual habits. Take care.
    Nancy

  8. Nancy, you are remarkable. I have loved being privy to your growth and development this past year as I have walked the path with you. Your vision seems to be crystal clear and your determination is an inspiration to me. Loved your post especially since I could envision everything, having been there with you!

    Much love,
    Barbara

  9. Barbara, thanks so much — YOU are an inspiration to me with your grace and sunny spirit despite the trials Life throws your way. I’m proud to know you, Lady!
    Love and light,
    Nancy

  10. “I didn’t even bring a pair of glasses, and never thought of them — I am beginning to re-define myself as someone who used to wear glasses but doesn’t any longer.”

    That’s a milestone (assuming it was not forced but rather, came naturally).

    I would have been too afraid to do that (in other words, I am currently not ready for something like that and honestly cannot imagine what it feels like to be ready to do it the way you did).

  11. FMR,
    Baby steps. I had my glasses with me, in the case, “just in case”. This was preceded by a couple of years of driving with my glasses on top of my head, then on my face when I got anxious, then on top of my head again, then parked on top of my head so I started to forget they were there, then in the case on the seat beside me. I took them out of the case and put them on top of my head again yesterday again for security during a stressful drive, but never wanted to use them. Be gentle with yourself.
    Nancy

Leave a comment